ole Announces Its 2018 Canadian Country Music Award Nominees

TORONTO, ON – Today, July 13, ole, the world’s fastest-growing independent music publishing and rights management company, is pleased to announce its 2018 Canadian Country Music Award Nominees. In addition to being nominated for Music Publishing Company of the Year, an award ole has won for the past eleven consecutive years, its record label, red dot, has been nominated for Record Company of the Year, and its CEO, Robert Ott, has been nominated for Industry Person of the Year.

Further to these prestigious industry award nominations, ole’s recording artists and songwriters also received a number of coveted nominations:

Singer-songwriter Meghan Patrick received five nominations in total for: Female Artist of the Year, FORD Album of the Year for Country Music Made Me Do it; Single of the Year and Songwriter of the Year along with ole writer Jeremy Stover for the title track of the same album, as well as Video of the Year for “The Bad Guy”.

Fan favourite Gord Bamford received nominations for the Apple Music Fan’s Choice Award, Male Artist of the Year, and Record Producer of the Year for his work with co-producer Phil O’Donnell on Bamford’s album, Neon Smoke.

The brother and sister duo, The Reklaws, received nominations for the SiriusXM Rising Star, Group or Duo of the Year, and Video of the Year for “Hometown Kids”.

Singer-songwriter Lindi Ortega has been nominated for Roots Artist or Group of the Year.

ole songwriter Gavin Slate has been nominated for Songwriter of the Year for his co-write of “It’s Working” performed by the James Barker Band, and “Chills”, also co-written by Gavin Slate and performed by the James Barker Band, was nominated for Song of the Year.

“We are incredibly proud of all of the ole songwriters and artists for their nominations. It’s also great to see ole recognized for Music Publishing Company of the Year, as well as Record Company of the Year. It’s exciting to enter the award season on such a high note,” commented John Ozier, ole’s Vice President of Creative.

The 2018 Canadian Country Music Award Show will broadcast live from the FirstOntario Centre in Hamilton, Ontario, on Sunday, September 9 at 8:00 p.m. EST.

Paul Eastwood
647 243 3901

About ole ole is one of the world's foremost rights management companies with investments of over $550M in music intellectual property (IP). Founded in 2004, with operations in Toronto, Nashville, New York, Los Angeles and London, ole is engaged in IP acquisitions, creative development, and worldwide rights management. The ole catalog includes over 55,000 songs and 60,000 hours of TV and film music across all genres. Copyrights under ole's control include songs recorded by artists such: as the Backstreet Boys, Beyoncé, Blake Shelton, Britney Spears, Carrie Underwood, Eric Church, Jay Z, Justin Timberlake, Kelly Clarkson, Madonna, Michael Jackson, One Direction, Rihanna, Rush, Taylor Swift, and Timbaland.

ole controls substantial A/V music and secondary rights including catalogs from: Sony Pictures Entertainment, Entertainment One, MGM, Miramax, Nelvana, and Nu Image/Millennium, as well as an extensive production music library of over 750,000 tracks including: JINGLE PUNKS, Cavendish MUSIC, 5 ALARM MUSIC, MusicBox, Nelvana Production Music, Auracle, and Cue. In September 2016, ole acquired rights management company COMPACT MEDIA – which manages Audio-Visual Secondary Rights for more than 700 clients around the world – in a major deal that furthers ole's commitment to delivering leading-edge IP rights management services across the globe.

ole is committed to the creative development of its 150+ staff songwriters, legacy writers, and composers and adding value to our catalogs and client catalogs. Current ole writers include: Timbaland, Tyler Farr, Chris Janson, Josh Dorr, Gord Bamford, Brett Jones, Jeremy Stover, Phil O'Donnell, Jordan Davis, and Ian Thornley. ole has ongoing ventures with Last Gang Publishing, Roots Three Music, Jackoby Publishing, and most recently, ole-Bluestone Publishing, ole's venture with global hitmaker, Timbaland. ole's legacy catalogs and writers include: Rush, Max Webster, Coney Hatch, and Ian Thomas.

ole also operates a robust label services arm under the umbrella of ole label group. The division includes: anthem, the label home of: Rush, Big Wreck, Ian Fletcher Thornley, Steven Page and The Tea Party; anthem LEGACY, which houses legendary catalogues by such artists as: Stompin' Tom Connors, Max Webster, Lighthouse and Ian Thomas, and red dot, which has released, developed and up-streamed artists including: Haley Reinhart, George Canyon, Austin Jenckes, Josh Dorr, Sam Grow, Maddison Krebs and Jordan Davis.

ole digital is a full YouTube MCN partner for all media with over 17 billion views across publishing, masters and A/V to date.