ole Acquires Matt Morris's Top 40 Hits

Toronto: ole, the largest independent Canadian-owned, full-service, multi-national music publisher is pleased to announce the acquisition of Matt Morris’s songs within the Logrhythm catalogue.

The catalogue features the Billboard Top 40 #1 hit single “Miss Independent” by Kelly Clarkson as well as five tracks on Christina Aguilera’s 4x platinum Stripped album – including the Billboard Top 40 hit single “Can’t Hold Us Down” featuring Lil’ Kim. The catalogue is further comprised of sixty-eight unexploited songs, many of them co-written with such noted hitmakers as Justin Timberlake, Scott Storch, Christina Aguilera, Rhett Lawrence, and Kelly Clarkson.


Logrhythm was owned by Gary Morris, a successful songwriter and artist in his own right, with sixteen Top 10 singles and five No. 1 hits, including “Baby Bye Bye”, “100% Chance of Rain”, and “Leave Me Lonely”.


Matt Morris is a renowned songwriter and artist whose album UnSpoken is also included in this acquisition.


Over the past two and a half years ole has completed over $47M USD worth of acquisitions.


about  ole

ole is a multi-national, Canadian-owned, full-service music publisher founded by Robert Ott (former VP/GM BMGMP Canada) and Tim Laing (former radio and TV producer and finance executive). ole boasts an experienced team of over 20 industry professionals focused on acquisitions, creative development and administration worldwide. ole has offices in Toronto, Nashville, and LA.

The ole catalogue includes over twenty-five thousand songs across all genres ranging from pop, to country, to urban to rhythm & blues and soul. Over the past two years ole has completed the purchases of the Balmur, Encore, Keith Follese, Dream Warriors, Frank Myers, David Tyson, Lighthouse and Marsfilm Music and Logrythm catalogs.

ole has also purchased the worldwide music rights for Amberwood Entertainment's The Secret World Of Benjamin Bear and their forthcoming 3D animated series Rollbots.

Recent cuts include the lead-off single “Headspin” by Rockstar Supernova, “Once In A While” by Akon, “Shoes” by Shania Twain from Music Inspired by Desperate Housewives, Jaheim’s “Daddy Thing,” Sean Paul’s “Change the Game,” “He Ain’t Even Cold Yet” by Gretchen Wilson, Jason Aldean's "Lonesome U.S.A.," Ronnie Milsap’s “My Life,” and Trace Adkins' “High.”

ole has concluded worldwide publishing administration agreements with film and television producers Nelvana, The National Film Board of Canada, Shaftesbury Films, PorchLight Entertainment, Arcadia Entertainment, Devine Entertainment, Lenz Entertainment, CCI, Breakthrough Films, Amberwood Entertainment, Slanted Wheel, Storm Entertainment, Sound Venture Productions, and Mona Lisa and Suman out of Europe.

ole is the Canadian sub-publisher for the prestigious Arc Music Group, a catalogue that includes songs by Jerry Butler, Chuck Berry, John Lee Hooker, Bo Diddley and Otis Rush. ole also serves as the exclusive Canadian sub-publisher for the prominent Bucks Music Group, home of the James Blunt smash “You’re Beautiful.” and for TV, animation giant DiC Entertainment.

The company has signed songwriters Gerald O'Brien, John Wesley Chisholm, Ben Dunk, James Huff, Willie Mack, Scarlett, Steve Mandile, Gilles Godard, and Derek Brin and struck a co-venture deal with Last Gang Publishing -- a division of Last Gang Entertainment -- bringing West Coast rockers Panurge and Mother Mother, O’Luge, Murray Yates of Forty Foot Echo, and Kinnie Starr to the roster as well as Steven Dall.

ole also recently announced co-ventures with Roots Three Music, which includes songwriters Bruce Wallace, Chris Thorsteinson, Dave Wasyliw (of Doc Walker), Steven Lee Olsen and Denny Carr (The Road Hammers and Doc Walker) -- IB Entertainment, and Nashville executive Tim DuBois for Steve Mandile.

ole also administers Sound Of Pop, a Toronto-based music publishing company, label, and management firm whose clients include Cadence Grace, Brandon Jones, The Amber Room, The Voices, Two Weeks Tuesday, London Apartments, and J.C. Smith. ole also administers the Treasure Music Island Inc. catalogue featuring The Merrymen, David Kirton and Spice and Company and, in a separate deal, L.A. songwriter David Kopatz.

At ole the goal is to be the home for the best songwriters, composers, management talent and intellectual property investors and the first choice music source for creators in all media.

The ole website can be found at www.majorlyindie.com