Mark J. Feist, multi-platinum writer/producer, inks worldwide co-publishing deal with ole

LOS ANGELES: On the eve of his new song "No Man, No Cry" -- about to drop March 25 as the single for Kelly Rowland’s upcoming digital release Ms. Kelly: Diva Deluxe -- ole is pleased to announce the signing of Los Angeles-based multi-platinum songwriter and producer Mark J. Feist to a multi-year, worldwide co-publishing deal. ole will co-publish “No Man, No Cry” and all other copyrights over the term.

Contributing to sales of more than 30 million albums as a writer and producer, Feist has written and produced hits for such phenomenal pop artists as Destiny's Child, Kelly Rowland, Céline Dion, The Spice Girls, OutKast, Natalie Cole, John Legend, George Clinton, Mya, Kimberley Locke, Jennifer Holiday, Brian McKnight, Keith Washington, Chanté Moore, Shanice Wilson, Aaron Carter and many more.

In 2005, the Australian-born Feist was also the writer-producer-arranger catalyst behind "Come Together Now," the star-studded Indian Ocean Tsunami/Hurricane Katrina relief charity single co-written with Damon Sharpe, Denise Rich and Sharon Stone and featuring such multi-platinum recording artists as Céline Dion, Patti LaBelle, Natalie Cole, The Game, members of the Backstreet Boys, Joss Stone and many others that raised hundreds of thousands of dollars for Habitat For Humanity.

Feist's association with Kelly Rowland began with Destiny's Child. In 2001, he produced and arranged the trio's top 10 remake of "Emotion," featured on their multi-platinum albums Survivor and #1s. The song also sold millions as part of the multi-platinum, various artists Now 9 compilation.

In 2002, Feist -- with DNM Worldwide partner Damon Sharpe -- co-wrote and produced the song "Everytime You Walk Out That Door" for Rowland's debut solo album Simply Deep, which peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard Top R&B/Hip-Hop Albums chart and sold 2.5 million copies around the world.

His latest song, "No Man, No Cry," is slated as the next single for Rowland on, Ms. Kelly: Diva Deluxe, to be released on Columbia Records March 25. "No Man, No Cry" is one of five new tracks on the online-exclusive expanded edition.

Feist said he was thrilled to join the ole stable of songwriters.

"I'm really excited about this partnership," said Feist, who has recently collaborated with hit songwriters Evan Kidd Bogart (Sean Kingston's "Take U There," Rihanna's "S.O.S ") and Mischke (Mary J. Blige) for upcoming projects.

"What I love so much about ole is their passion and commitment for music and song. It's a big credit to (ole Chairman & CEO) Robert (Ott) for putting together such a great team of people with great corporate culture. They're young, hungry and very passionate about music."

Sean Mulligan, ole Director, U.S. Film, Television & Media, added:

"I knew from my first conversation with Mark that he and ole would be a perfect fit for one another. He was very straightforward about the level of attention and support he was wanting from a publishing partner at this stage of his career; and I knew ole could deliver.

"Mark's production and songwriting talents are an incredible addition to the ole roster and I look forward to our future shared successes."

In conclusion, Mark J. Feist says his future looks bright with the ole.

"It's a win/win situation," said Feist. "Good things are on the horizon. I think the planets have aligned and if we just focus and keep our heads down, I think it's going to be a really great partnership."

For more information, please contact Jennifer Hyland at 1-310-499-0242 or


About ole

ole is a globally competitive, Canadian owned, full-service music publisher founded by Robert Ott (former VP/GM BMGMP Canada) and Tim Laing (former radio and TV producer and finance executive). ole boasts a team of 25 experienced industry professionals focused on acquisitions, creative development and administration worldwide. With offices in Toronto, Nashville, and Los Angeles, ole has grown into Canada’s largest independent music publisher in three short years. ole was named the 2007 CCMA Music Publishing Company of the Year, the first time in 15 years the honour has gone to an independent publisher.

The ole catalog includes over thirty-five thousand songs and thirty thousand hours of TV music across all genres. ole has completed a number of acquisitions over the past three years, including prominent catalog purchases Balmur, Keith Follese, Lighthouse, Frank Myers, Dream Warriors, Logrhythm’s Matt Morris, Encore, David Tyson, and Marsfilm Music catalogs. ole has also purchased the worldwide music rights for WGBH’s award-winning children’s series Arthur, Amberwood Entertainment's The Secret World of Benjamin Bear and forthcoming 3D animated series Rollbots, and the music to sci-fi cult series, Lexx.

ole is an expert in administrating television music copyrights and has concluded worldwide publishing administration agreements with film and television producers Nelvana, Lenz Entertainment, Shaftesbury Films, Ellis Entertainment, The National Film Board of Canada, PorchLight Entertainment, Frantic Films, Peace Arch Entertainment Group, Arcadia Entertainment, Devine Entertainment, CCI, Breakthrough Films, Amberwood Entertainment, and Sound Venture Productions. ole has also licensed the vast library of Nelvana songs for use in ole’s independent production music library set to begin operation in 2008.

ole serves as the exclusive Canadian sub-publisher for the prominent Bucks Music Group – home of the James Blunt smash “You’re Beautiful” and Beyoncé and Shakira’s “Beautiful Liar” and for TV animation giant DiC Entertainment.

Staff songwriters and composers include: Mark J. Feist, Kelly Archer, Jack Lenz, Tebey, Mladen, Gerald O'Brien, Derek Brin, John Wesley Chisholm, Ben Dunk, Gilles Godard, Rebecca Everett, J.C. Smith, James Huff, Willie Mack, Scarlett and Roger Springer. ole also administers writers David Kopatz and Mad Love Music’s Dr. Alex Tsisserev.

ole co-ventures include Last Gang Publishing, representing artists Kinnie Starr, Mother Mother, MSTRKRFT, Rides Again, Let’s Go To War, Panurge, Murray Yates (Forty Foot Echo), and Steven Dall. Nashville-based co-venture Roots Three Music includes songwriters Chris Thorsteinson and Dave Wasyliw of Doc Walker, Bruce Wallace, Steven Lee Olsen, Denny Carr, and Kaci Bolls. ole’s urban co-venture with Toronto-based Tanjola (a division of ib Entertainment) has brought Dru, Alonzo, and Haydain Neale to the roster. ole has also entered into a co-venture with LA-based Five K Entertainment headed by Victor Murgatroyd, former Vice-President of A&R for j records.

Recent cuts include "No Man, No Cry" by Kelly Rowland, "It Was Me" by George Strait, “I’m Already There” by Westlife”, “Once In A While” by Akon, “Another Pot O’ Tea” by Anne Murray/Emmylou Harris, and Shane Yellowbird’s “I Remember The Music.” Other notable copyrights include the Billboard #1 single, “Miss Independent” by Kelly Clarkson, “Can’t Hold Us Down” by Christina Aguilera and Lil’ Kim, “Black Velvet” by Alannah Myles, “Shoes” by Shania Twain (from the album Music Inspired by Desperate Housewives), Sean Paul’s “Change the Game”, Trace Adkins’ “High,” “Headspin” by Rockstar Supernova, and Gretchen Wilson’s “He Ain’t Even Cold Yet”.

ole songs have appeared in national ad campaigns for Toyota, Sears, The Bay, and Telus as well as in television shows The Sopranos, The Black Donnellys, The Hills, Cold Case, Trailer Park Boys, Degrassi: The Next Generation, Whistler, Da Kink In My Hair, and Falcon Beach.

ole is committed to being the best and most innovative global destination for world-class songwriters, composers, and management talent, and the first choice music source for creators in all media.

Please visit out website for more information: