ole Signs Nashville Songwriter Kelly Archer

NASHVILLE: Kelly Archer, who has recently placed country songs with Jason Aldean, Jo Dee Messina, Danielle Peck and Aaron Tippin, has signed a multi-year worldwide publishing deal with ole.

Currently enjoying her first No. 1 across the Pacific with Warner Music Australia artist Steve Forde's recording of "Summer's Little Angel," the Vancouver, Canada native was most recently signed to the Universal Music Publishing Group after stints at Island Bound and BMG Music Publishing.

Based in Nashville since 2001, Archer counts such Music Row hitmakers as Max T. Barnes ("Before You Kill Us All," "Love, Me") and Vince Melamed ("What Mattered Most," "Walkaway Joe") as some of her regular collaborators.

"She's an incredible talent and we are pleased to have her signed here at ole!" notes Gilles Godard, ole Nashville Chief Creative Officer.

Kelly Archer is equally pleased to be joining the ole songwriting roster, which includes Roger Springer, Gerald O'Brien, Tebey and Willie Mack, to name a few.

"I'm super excited and really thrilled," says Kelly Archer. "I really think the next few years are going to be just killer and I'm really looking forward to it."

Archer songs that have been covered so far include the Top 5 Canadian hit "The Ride" by Diane Chase; "Biker Chick" by Jo Dee Messina; "Sucks To Be You" by Danielle Peck and "It's Friday" by Aaron Tippin.

Jason Aldean will also be cutting her song "On My Highway" for his upcoming album when he heads into the studio next month.

Archer will be making her first appearance performing at Tin Pan South in Nashville at the ole showcase April 2 at The Rutledge. She will also perform at the Third Annual ASCAP/ole Fishing Tournament and Late Night Hang in Key West, Florida -- April 30-May 2 -- as part of the 13th Annual Hog's Breath Saloon Key West Songwriting Festival.

About ole

ole is a globally competitive, Canadian owned, full-service music publisher founded by Robert Ott (former VP/GM BMGMP Canada) and Tim Laing (former radio and TV producer and finance executive). ole boasts a team of 25 experienced industry professionals focused on acquisitions, creative development and administration worldwide. With offices in Toronto, Nashville, and Los Angeles, ole has grown into Canada’s largest independent music publisher in three short years. ole was named the 2007 CCMA Music Publishing Company of the Year, the first time in 15 years the honour has gone to an independent publisher.

The ole catalog includes over thirty-five thousand songs and thirty thousand hours of TV music across all genres. ole has completed a number of acquisitions over the past three years, including prominent catalog purchases Balmur, Keith Follese, Lighthouse, Frank Myers, Dream Warriors, Logrhythm’s Matt Morris, Encore, David Tyson, and Marsfilm Music catalogs. ole has also purchased the worldwide music rights for WGBH’s award-winning children’s series Arthur, Amberwood Entertainment's The Secret World of Benjamin Bear and forthcoming 3D animated series Rollbots, and the music to sci-fi cult series, Lexx.

ole is an expert in administrating television music copyrights and has concluded worldwide publishing administration agreements with film and television producers Nelvana, Lenz Entertainment, Shaftesbury Films, Ellis Entertainment, The National Film Board of Canada, PorchLight Entertainment, Frantic Films, Peace Arch Entertainment Group, Arcadia Entertainment, Devine Entertainment, CCI, Breakthrough Films, Amberwood Entertainment, and Sound Venture Productions. ole has also licensed the vast library of Nelvana songs for use in ole’s independent production music library set to begin operation in 2008.

ole serves as the exclusive Canadian sub-publisher for the prominent Bucks Music Group – home of the James Blunt smash “You’re Beautiful” and Beyoncé and Shakira’s “Beautiful Liar” and for TV animation giant DiC Entertainment.

Staff songwriters and composers include: Mark J. Feist, Kelly Archer, Jack Lenz, Tebey, Mladen, Gerald O'Brien, Derek Brin, John Wesley Chisholm, Ben Dunk, Gilles Godard, Rebecca Everett, J.C. Smith, James Huff, Willie Mack, Scarlett and Roger Springer. ole also administers writers David Kopatz and Mad Love Music’s Dr. Alex Tsisserev.

ole co-ventures include Last Gang Publishing, representing artists Kinnie Starr, Mother Mother, MSTRKRFT, Rides Again, Let’s Go To War, Panurge, Murray Yates (Forty Foot Echo), and Steven Dall. Nashville-based co-venture Roots Three Music includes songwriters Chris Thorsteinson and Dave Wasyliw of Doc Walker, Bruce Wallace, Steven Lee Olsen, Denny Carr, and Kaci Bolls. ole’s urban co-venture with Toronto-based Tanjola (a division of ib Entertainment) has brought Dru, Alonzo, and Haydain Neale to the roster. ole has also entered into a co-venture with LA-based Five K Entertainment headed by Victor Murgatroyd, former Vice-President of A&R for j records.

Recent cuts include "No Man, No Cry" by Kelly Rowland, "It Was Me" by George Strait, “I’m Already There” by Westlife”, “Once In A While” by Akon, “Another Pot O’ Tea” by Anne Murray/Emmylou Harris, and Shane Yellowbird’s “I Remember The Music.” Other notable copyrights include the Billboard #1 single, “Miss Independent” by Kelly Clarkson, “Can’t Hold Us Down” by Christina Aguilera and Lil’ Kim, “Black Velvet” by Alannah Myles, “Shoes” by Shania Twain (from the album Music Inspired by Desperate Housewives), Sean Paul’s “Change the Game”, Trace Adkins’ “High,” “Headspin” by Rockstar Supernova, and Gretchen Wilson’s “He Ain’t Even Cold Yet”.

ole songs have appeared in national ad campaigns for Toyota, Sears, The Bay, and Telus as well as in television shows The Sopranos, The Black Donnellys, The Hills, Cold Case, Trailer Park Boys, Degrassi: The Next Generation, Whistler, Da Kink In My Hair, and Falcon Beach.

ole is committed to being the best and most innovative global destination for world-class songwriters, composers, and management talent, and the first choice music source for creators in all media. Please visit out website for more information: www.majorlyindie.com